December 29, 2011

A Year in Review - Blog Hop

Karin Martin at "With an "i" For Paper" is hosting a Year in Review Blog Hop.  In keeping with the spirit of the season it is a chance to look back and highlight some of your favorite projects from the past year.  At the bottom of my post there is a link to Karin's blog that outlines the prizes and rules to play along.  For me this represents my first year of blogging.  I began "In My Creative Opinion" January 2011 so this is a chance for me to reflect on my first year.

Join in the fun!

Happy New Year!

December 26, 2011

Papertrey Blog Hop - December 26

The traditional "Papertrey Ink Holiday Leftovers Challenge" is being held this month on the 26th.  The focus is to use the wrapping paper, bows, ribbon, tags, canceled postage from holiday cards you have received, photos from holiday cards and anything else you might have laying around after the holiday preparations have ended. The challenge is to use some type of leftover materials to create a project. 

I had so much fun doing my 25 days  of Christmas Tags this year and ended up with a basket of holiday tags ready to go.  Of course by the time my family finished up their wrapping there was not much left in the basket.  However thanks to blogging I have a permanent record of all 25 tags.

My husband used Tag # 9 for a gift for me, wrapped it in a beautiful green foil paper from Peir 1 and topped it with a beautiful clear bow with green trim.  I was so awed by this I took a quick picture (my family thinks I am pretty much nuts).

For my card I started with Vintage Cream cardstock, adhered the wrapping paper, used my Tim Holtz foam applicator to distress the edges of the card (note: I should have done this before adhering the wrapping paper), trimmed the tails on the tag and adhered the tag with foam dots boosting the tree on the tag up another level.

So for the challenge I couldn't let this lovely memory end up in the trash so I made a card.  My first one for next year.

All Supplies are from Papertrey Ink unless otherwise noted:

Cardstock: Vintage Cream, Kraft, Spring Moss
 Stamps: Winterberry, Winter Penguin, Tag Its #9 
Dies: Tag Sale 3, Winterberry
Ink: Ripe Avocado, Fresh Snow (PTI), Tuxedo Black (Memento), Shabby Shutters (Ranger), Creamy Brown (Clearsnap)
Other:  Ripe Avocado ribbon, gemstones (Doodlebug), green foil wrapping paper

Pin It

December 23, 2011

ColourQ Challenge #116 & The Play Date Cafe PDCC112

I missed getting my link in last week, but I will post it once the gallery opens up again.  I didn't want to miss again so here is this week submission.  When I saw this photo I saw the colours from both ColourQ and The Play Date Cafe in this We R Memory Keepers paper from last Christmas.   
Easy to put together--CAS.

Cardstock: Simply Chartreuse (PTI)
Patterned Paper: Winter Wonderland (We R Memory Keepers)
Dies: Matt Stack 4 (PTI)
Other:  die cut (We R Memory Keepers), red/green twine (Divine Twine)

Pin It

25 Days of Christmas Tags - Day 25

For those of you who are Canadian or know a Canadian you know how we feel about our Timmies.  Tim Horton's coffee is a Canadian staple.  The Tim Hortons chain was founded in 1964 in Hamilton, Ontario by the lengedary NHL hockey player Tim Horton.  You will hear Canadians say all the time--I need my Timmies.  Just a bit of history. 

Well last year their holiday bag inspired me when I immediately saw the Papertrey colours Terra Cotta Tile and Vintage Cream.  I created a card back a while ago for submission but it was a reject.  My Terra Cotta didn't go on well or dry well at all--a bust.  So for my 25th tag I used the bag for inspiration and then used Pure Poppy instead.  I am also posting my 'reject' card done in Terra Cotta.  Posting a recap of all 25 tags is coming, but I did photograph a picture of all the yummy tags in their basket and placed it at the bottom of this post.. 

Merry Christmas to all of you and I hope the holidays, whatever you celebrate, are filled with love and joy.

The rejected card.

All Supplies are from Papertrey Ink unless otherwise noted:

Cardstock: Kraft, Vintage Cream, Terra Cotta Tile
Stamps:  On Ice, Winter Penguins, Peace Be Still
Ink: Terra Cotta, Pure Poppy, Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Dies: Tag Sale #1, Limitless Layers 1.75", Half and Half
Other:  Assorted Copics, Stickles, Twine

Pin It

December 22, 2011

Odds & Ends

Just a quick update tonight.  Tag #25 will be posted hopefully on Friday.  It has been a crazy week as I am sure it has for so many of you.  Both of my kids were up to their necks with projects due before Christmas as their first semester is over the end of January and after the holidays they are into exams, a good friend of my parents passed away from Cancer this week and today I took them to the funeral, I was madly finishing up my Christmas baking and to top it off my MS has been giving me grief this week.  I am looking forward to the down down after Christmas.  :)

I wanted to share the Christmas treats my daughter made herself and is taking to school for a few of her close friends using my 'too' overflowing bin of Chrstimas papers.  I think she did a really good job.   She followed the instructions from this Jillibean post and this weeks MIM Challenge.


Paper:  Assorted My Mind Eye Christmas Papers
Stamps: Tag Its #8  (PTI)
Ink:  Pure Poppy (PTI), Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Dies:  Limitless Layers 1 3/4" (PTI)
Other: Acore Tape, paper crimper (Fiskars)

Another thing I have been sitting on are the pictures I took a few weeks ago of my Christmas decorating this year. 

Merry Christmas!!

December 18, 2011

ColourQ Challenge 115 & 25 Days of Christmas Tags - Day 24

I missed the deadline for ColourQ, but I am still going to play along.

When I saw the colours for this weeks ColourQ Challenge the first thing I though of was Doodlebug's Christmas patterned papers. When I dug them out I was thrilled to see that 'Peppermin Twist' was a bang on match for all of the colours this week, I combined that with 'Limeade Daisy Stripe' Petite Prints, stickers from 'Happy Holidays' and Pure Poppy PTI cardstock to make a card, a tag and a notebook.  The tag is Day 23 from my 25 Days of Chrismas Tags series that I am doing right now on my blog.  Hope you enjoy.

Cardstock: Pure Poppy, White
Patterned Paper: Peppermint Twist, Limeade Daisy Stripe (Doodlebug)
Dies: Limitless Layers, Pinking Shears, Blcok Alphabet (PTI), Holly Jolly (Lil' Inkers)
Other:  stickers and  sugar coated brads (Doodlebug), pink bakers twine, notepad
Pin It

25 Days of Christmas Tags - Day 23

You cannot get anymore CAS than this one. ;)

All Supplies are from Papertrey Ink unless otherwise noted:

Cardstock: Kraft
Stamps:  2010 Holiday Tags
Ink: Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Dies: Damask Snowflakes
Other:  die cut doily(Martha Stewart)

Pin It

December 17, 2011

25 Days of Christmas Tags - Day 22

Cardstock: White (PTI), red (Bazzill)
Stamps:  Marshmellow Snowman (Savvy Stamps), Winter Penguin (PTI)
Ink: Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Dies: Mat Stack 1, Layerz Mat Stack 1 (PTI)
Other:  red baker's twine (The Twinery)

Pin It

December 15, 2011

25 Days of Christmas Tags - Day 21

I think you will see from today's tags that I love  those cute little reindeer.  The reindeer from Tremdous Treats Christmas and Tiny Treats Christmas are one in the same.  Naturally I felt we needed a herd of fawns.  I created a tiny mask of the fawn so that I could stamp them close together.  I was able to cut off the antlers of my mask because the antlers would overlap nicely. 

All Supplies are from Papertrey Ink unless otherwise noted:

Cardstock: Kraft
Stamps:  2010 Holiday Tags, Tremendous Treats Christmas, Tiny Treats Christmas,
Winter Penguins, Holly Jolly (Lil' Inkers)
Ink: Fresh Snow (PTI), Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Dies: Tag Sale #2
Other:  Assorted Copics, Gelly Roll Pen, red Stickles, red baker's twine (The Twinery)

Pin It